Dry suit question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

BasiaA.

Registered
Reaction score
Hi - am new to the site. Wondering if any of you have used the chemical hand (or foot) warmers with your dry suits? They are made for hikers and skiers but I thought they could be used with the suits, too... want to keep warm in really cold waters. Many thanks.

happywave.gif
Hi BasiaA. and Welcome to :sblogo:

I'm actually a warm water diver, so I have no experience at all with dry suits.....
This link
http://www.scubaboard.com/forumdisplay.php?f=30
however brings you to the sub-forum "Exposure Suits" which deals with exactly that!
Happy browsing and safe diving!

Welcome to the Board. Good to have you here.

Where exactly do you think you'll place them in a drysuit? All over your body? Hands? Feet? Generally, these chem packs are an awful idea. If you want to stay warm in a drysuit, buy a good set of undergarments.

Hands will likely be the biggest issue when trying to keep warm since they are very hard to protect and maintain any dexterity. How cold is the water you're planning on diving?

I agree with PerroneFord with respect to chem packs and drysuits. I have however used them with wetsuits. They were nice when they didn't go off too soon. The biggest thing you have to be careful with is that you don't put them directly on your skin. They get too hot and could burn you. If you do use them make sure to put clothing between you and the chem pack.

Paula