Do Blood Thinners Increase Risk?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

neilrice

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I have been diving for about 3 years and am also taking a drug called Plavix to keep the arteries flowing nicely. I notice that even a small cut can sometimes bleed much longer now and was curious to know if thinner blood will increase the risk of DCS. I am imagining those little bubbles having an easier time escaping?

Hello nealrice :

Blood Thinners

Medications such as these (and aspirin, ibuprofen, etc) retard clotting of the blood and guard against clots forming that could lead to stokes and heart attacks. They are not really blood thinners and do not actually reduce the viscosity ("thin" in a manner similar to adding water to syrup).

DCS

Viscosity changes are said to reduce DCS when they increase the total volume of blood and increase local blood flow (perfusion). Anticoagulants do not increase blood volume. I would not suspect that they reduce the risk of DCS.

Dr Deco :doctor: