diving in Vietnam?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

danielplongeur

Registered
Reaction score
First question: Can anyone tell me about the diving in Vietnam? I've read that there are operations in Nha Trang, Danang and Hoi An, as well as some on the southwest coast close to the Cambodian border, but I'd be very interested in useful feedback, recommendations, etc.

I'm a veteran and just recently returned to VN (on a group tour) for the first time in 35 years. I would very much like to go back soon, and diving is part of my motivation. Thanks for whatever you can tell me.

Si vous parlez francais et avez des renseignements utiles a me donner, vous pourrez m'ecrire en francais ou en anglais. Je vous en remercie.

i moved part of your post here to get you answers from the locals

I didn't think much of hte diving in Nha Trang. It seemed like a lot of dead coral and had very few fish. The fish I did see were cool (including a really huge moray) but not cool enough to go back. If you're going to be there and want to get wet it will be fun but it's not a place to go to dive.

I spent sometime on the beach at Hoi Ann but the water there is like pea soup. Similar colour to the Mekong. I don't think it's diveable. Maybe off shore but I didnt' see any diving operations. I've read about the islands in the southwest near cambodia but I haven't dived there or talked to anyone who has. I seem to remember readign that they were a little remote.

Enjoy your trip.