Diving and Bad lower Back

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Ilias Rm

New
Reaction score
Greetings!

Well, I am newbie here and considering scuba diving, but I have issues with my lower back. I got spondylolisthesis L4-L5 degree 1. The doctor said that is congenital thing and when i ask him about scuba diving, he hasn't negative attitude but neither positive ....I am very skeptical about that.I want to protect my lower back but I love open waters too!
I wonder, if someone has similar issues and if his back worsened ,after scuba diving.

Τhank you and nice to meet you.

How old are you, How much do you weigh, are you physically active. I have minor lower back problems and still dive at 70 years old. The one thing that still allows me to Dive is my physical attitude. I walk 3 miles every morning that I don't dive. I never smoked, don't drink much. and 4 years ago I weighed 220 now I am down to 170. But I have been Diving since 1955 and still love it. Good Luck it's 512 AM and I am off for my morning 3 miles. :)

If it's weight you're worried about, maybe tried scuba classes that uses side mount. I think PADI is pushing for that right now as the new norm. It's much less physically demanding because you won't have to carry the tank on your back on land.