Dive stops in Western Caribbean (Carnival Cruise lines) - Advice!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

EllyBell

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi! I'm new to diving. I've always been a good swimmer and on my last cruise tried snuba and realize I had to get scuba certified as 20ft down wasn't enough. Well, I have a cruise planned for January 2010 and I plan on getting certified this summer. I'll be doing 4 open water dives for the cert, but will probably do more just to get comfortable with it.

Ok, enough about me. Now for the question. I will be sailing on Carnival Cruise lines and we will be stopping at Cozumel, Belize, Grand Cayman and Isla Roatan. I was wondering if anyone as been on any of these stops and could give me their opinions on the dive shore excursions offered - Any that are just ok, any to pass on, ones I should not miss, etc.

Their online shore excursion guide only says this about where you will be diving:

Cozumel: Sand Dollar
Belize: Turneffe Atoll
Isla Roatan: Anthony's Key
Grand Cayman: wall dive followed by a shallow reef or wreck dive.

Any help or thoughts would be GREATLY appreciated! Thanks!

My boyfriend and I are both going to be new divers, would going with one of the places you listed still be ok?

Also, any info you get on how to get there, how long the dives took, prices, etc would be greatly appreciated. I want to get the best experience possible.

Are you sailing on the Legend, the Legend, the Glory, or the Valor?