Dive buddy dilemma

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

khatley

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
My wife and I have been diving for about 8 years. We used to go to Cozumel 2 or 3 times a year but then we had our first child together and we have decided on our first dive trip since he was born (18 months old). We are wanting to try something new. Now I am pretty much open to anything new and love to night dive and find all the sharks and big fish I can but she is plenty content just floating down a wall with a divemaster close by when I start going through the swimthroughs and get lost in my play. I have posted a few times and have said that we have free tickets anywhere American flies in the Contenintal US, Mex, or Carribean. After many recommendations I was set on Bonaire but the drive and dive did not tickle her fancy and she is a bit nervous about going somewhere new without a group. She is worried about security and our first try at going on our own using a compass did not fare so well. I think she would be fine but when describing what I have read she was like I want a DM or someone who knows what they are doing. She is not interested in diving as much as I am and refuses to do anymore night dives. Now she did say that a liveaboard sounds like fun; although it is a bit more expensive than we were wanting to deal with, I think that may end up being the best option for me as I will get to dive all I want, and certainly get in some night dives with people I meet on the trip. Now I was thinking maybe I