DIR single tank regulator setup

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

tceylan

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I'm a beginner diver that picked up on diving in the last 3-4 months. During this time, I've purchased all of my equipment which mostly don't comply with DIR.

However, I do realize the benefits of DIR and I am planning to go DIR in the
future. I believe although I'll stay in the recreational diving realm, DIR approach
will help me to dive safer. I'm planning to transition to DIR slowly whenever I
can afford the next change.

As a first step, I'm considering converting my conventional regulator/octo setup;

MK25/S600 R190 scubapro DIN

to a

DIN MK25
5 ft long hose S600
22'' hose S600 with a bungee

for single tank (HP100 steel), no overhead environment setup. I've been very happy
with my regulator so far (except for occasional bubbles on my face.)

As long as the airflow is
adjusted properly (venturi/pre-dive, etc.) would it cause any problems on
a bungee around my neck?

Does anybody have a similar 2 x S600 setup like this?

The S600 is an excellent reg, but any reg can cause problems.

What type of BC are you using?

My advice, stay with your MK25 (don't waste money switching to DIN..no need) but buy a 7ft long hose instead of a 5ft. Maybe consider taking a fundies class within the next year. (That will make the whole "DIR" mindset much easier to understand) :D