Considering quitting underwater photography

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

MrChen

ScubaBoard Supporter
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I own a Nikon D850, 60mm and 105mm lenses, Sea&Sea housing, Inon z330 strobes, backscatter mf2 strobes (with a snoot and other accessories), and several Light & Motion lights. The camera is amazing and BHB is in my backyard. I've been using a DSLR for 8-10 years and enjoyed it immensely. But I'm at a crossroad... None of my pre-covid photo dive buddies are diving anymore. The last two photo dives I've done, I haven't had the motivation to process and post photos. I went to Roatan and left my camera at home and didn't miss it.

I think most of this has to do with the fact that I've found a group with a private boat, and we focus on hunting. I'm having a blast cruising around on a DPV learning to spearfish. I even landed a 33 inch black grouper a couple of weeks ago (which was exciting).

So here I am with all this camera gear, spare arms, butterfly clips, batteries, chargers, etc., and I'm thinking about selling it all. I'm sad thinking about it. I've learned a lot in the last decade. I think I'm ready to hang up the camera. Maybe I'll get something smaller and more casual in the future... Thanks for reading, I just needed to write it out to make it seem real.