cant reach my fins in my drysuit

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scubajohn921

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
how annoying, I cant reach my feet to put on/take off my fins when im in my drysuit, if i really push and bend down i can almost get my hands onto my spring heels, am i doing something wrong? im new to drysuit diving (3 dives) and each dive someone has to help me with the fins...

What's stopping you? Is the underwear too restrictive (the 1-piece suits can be like that), is the suit's torso too short? From my own research, people often say when you size a drysuit you need to be able to reach your fins (for instance, in case they come off in the water and you need to reseat them).

Do you have any idea where the restriction is?

A laminate or crushed neoprene suit will have a certain amount of baginess to allow for such gyrations since the suit cannot stretch. If your suit is fitting like a James Bond tuxedo it may in fact be too tight to work effectively.

The other thing that comes to mind is a bunching of equipment. Especially a weight belt that is exacerbated by the bulk of drysuit garments and BC overlap. A DUI weight harness can let some bulk drop a tad below your waist and help here.

You may find that you need to use a different position to get the reach you have used when diving wet but you should/must be able to manage your own fins as well as the rest of your gear.

Pete

Does this problem occur on land, in the water, or both?