Can't hear my computers alarm, not sure if it's working

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

zoid

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi all! I'm a very novice diver (~20 logged dives). I recently got my first diving computer, a Mares Puck Pro Plus. Reviewing the computer logs I noticed that at some points, I exceeded the recommended ascent rate (even got to 18 m/min for a short while). I never heard my computer beep. I checked and the audible alarm is on.
Now, I'm not sure if this is a problem of me hearing underwater with a hood on or the computer is not beeping. Do you know of any way I can test the beeping on the surface? I wrote Mares support about this but haven't heard back from them yet.

Thanks and happy holidays!

Now, I'm not sure if this is a problem of me hearing underwater with a hood on or the computer is not beeping. Do you know of any way I can test the beeping on the surface? I wrote Mares support about this but haven't heard back from them yet.
Most likely it’s the hood. And you seem to have stumbled on one of the problems with audible alarms. They can be hard to hear, especially under a hood. The other problem is it’s tough to tell where it’s coming from.

Does it beep on startup?

I haven't heard it beep on startup.
Not sure if Mares computers beep on startup. My experience was with my Oceanics. Those do beep, though I have the audible alarms turned off.