Camera advice

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Justine18

New
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi everyone,

My names Justine and I have been diving for around 2 years. I mainly do uk diving although am currently arranging a trip to the red sea next year and saving to go round the world (which will include lots of diving) I've just qualified to go down to 35m and am enjoying going inside wrecks now!

I was looking for a bit of advice really. I'm wanting to buy a compact digital camera with underwater housing. I up to £450 to spend, but finding it all a bit mind boggling! I am prepared to spend some time learning how to use the camera but must admit I'm a bit of a point and click kind of person.

Does anyone have any recommendations of good cameras for the uk (and abroad) for that price, camera and housing together or can recommend some good websites / reviews?

Thanks very much

Justine :)

Hello,
What about the Sealife DC1400?
DC1400 | Sealife Cameras
It's my first underwater camera and I love it! It makes good photos and HD videos. There are underwater modes which make photographing easy and the camera is expandable with different flashes. In my opinion it has all what a compact underwater camera needs.

You might get more help by posting in the Underwater Photography Thread, Justine. More UK based photographer may then see your request. There are several companies that sell suitable equipment in the UK and do try to get Maria Munn's book on Underwater Photography for Compact Camera Users.