Budget diving in Oahu

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

bangis

Registered
Reaction score
Hello!

I'm new to SB, and stumbled onto it after researching on diving in Oahu. I'll be moving to Oahu by end of July and will be staying there for a year for a scholarship program with U of H. While a year in Hawaii is probably fantastic, and I'd love to try to do as much as I can (a lot of diving included), I'll also be working on an extremely tight budget/stipend.

With that in mind, hope you guys can shed some light on the weekend dive possibilities without a regular "tourist" budget?

- Since shore dives are possible, how do I get started on this? Where can I find dive buddies who do regular weekend shore dives? (I'm hoping the answer would be, Here on SB of course! :) )
- I'll probably only be able to take a BCD, wetsuit, mask and snorkel (fins are too bulky so I'll just buy one cheap there, and rent regulators and tanks/weights), how much would it cost to rent the items I lack? Any suggestions where?
- What's a realistic per-dive budget (assuming I have to rent some of the gear above)? I'm planning to get a cheap car there, so would at least be able to go around easily.

I'm from the Philippines, have an AOW PADI license, done a good number of dives all over the country (except Tubbataha), and raring to find out what Hawaii diving is all about. Looking forward to meeting some of you guys as well :)

Hope to be underwater there in a month!