Belize Advice

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Trevor JC Brown

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
Hello all,

Thinking of planning a dive trip to Belize.
I am a 20 year veteran instructor and I'm simply looking for the best dive spots in Belize.
Any recommendations?

I've never done a land-based trip in Belize, but I did dive one of the Aggressor boats for a week a couple years ago. The sites we did off Turneffe were mediocre, with the better sites by far off Lighthouse reef, and that's a long trip on a day boat. So I'd certainly look into the two Aggressor boats if you really want to go to Belize.

The Blue Hole was a disappointment, in my view, and I think that view is shared by many others. I wouldn't bother diving it. I thought the shallow life on the reef around it was far more interesting than a dark cold hole with limited bottom time.

Why are you considering a trip Belize -- is there something in particular about it? All in all I thought the diving was ok to fine, but I've had better experiences elsewhere in the Caribbean.

I've been diving almost everywhere else in CA. Just not Belize.
Prob. not into a liveaboard, I'd rather spend the big bucks diving in Asia. Belize is convenient for a short trip.

But, if you have recommendations for other places in CA I'd like to hear them. Just not Mexico or Roatan as I have lived in both those places for multiple years.