BC free diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ajtoady

Contributor
Rest in Peace
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I am still new to the diving world, especially compared to some of the divers I see on this site. My question, however foolish it may seem, is this: How do the divers that don't use a BC function properly? The point being without a compensator at the beginning of a dive would you not either be too heavy with a full tank of gas to say at 60' crash into the bottom? Or at the end of the dive be too light to stay at your safety stop with the added buoyancy of a lighter tank and the wetsuit expanding again? I know I am probably missing something here but, am always willing to learn. I have also noticed that on the bottom I use it (BC) to hover without effort and make my air last longer because of the lack of exertion thereof. On another note : I did not ask this to start a fight over BC's versus BP/W. :confused:

I believe that before the invention of the BCD, buoyancy was controlled more by lung volume and by body placement in the water. And maybe less weight to sink, which would explain the heads down dive to get below the surface at the start of a dive.

Hope that helps

Wetsuit4life is correct. BCD's were still unheard of when I certified in '70. We dived in pretty heavy wetsuits, and most of us with steel tanks. You had to experiment to get the right weight for the particular conditions and depth you intended to dive.