Asking for recommendation on dive gear

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Lifelyjump

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a relative Novice in diving and I want to seek your advice on certain matters on gear since I have mind to purchase them myself.

1) I have my eye on the Cressi Leonardo dive computer and I want to get it via scubastore. Does anyone has any experience with this site?
2) Is annual testing required for dive watches? I have done some research but them I keep getting conflicting answers. It seems that the test on watch cost something like 70 USD.
3) For a beginner, is there any recommendations on fins? Not sure if this information helps but I will be diving in warm water.

Thanks in advance

I purchased the leonardo as my first dive computer and have been happy with it thus far. Granted this is the only computer I've ever used so i have nothing to compare it to. My only complaint is that in very low light situations, the display can be a little dim as the backlight is not that strong. The beep is clearly audile underwater. Simple 1 button interface. I purchased the cable to sync to computer and everything has worked great

You can get PADI or SSI certified on a dive computer: 1. if you have an instructor and 2. Go to Dive Computer Training and complete the course on the computer you have. Once completed you print out a certificate and give it to your instructor who forwards it on to the appropriate licensing body.