Advise on selecting a regulator

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

parrothead600

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I am new to the diving world & I am slowly aquiring equipment. I would like some opinions on regulators. Most of my diving will be done in Lake Michigan & Lake Superior, with temperatures around the 40 degree F mark. At the present time, I have no plans for ice diving but I don't want to rule it out either. I am considering purchasing a Sherwood Blizzard regulator. Would this be a good choice? What are the pro's & con's? Will there be any problems with this regulator in warmer water? Any info will be appreciated.

Don't know much about the Sherwood's, I use all Apeks, ATX200 on my singles, and ATX50's on my doubles, and deco bottle. I spend most all my time in the Great Lakes all have worked flawlessly in mid 30's to 70 degree water.

Also another thing to consider is servicing, what brands do shops local to you sell, I have to take my regs over to Traverse City (Scuba North) we usually make a day of it, so it's not all that bad.

Mike

The sherwood is a good reg, and it will also breathe very easily. Many shops use sherwoods in rental because of their ease of service, and also, their ruggedness. I think that youwill like the Blizzad as a starter reg right through advanced dives. The exhaust tee deflects all air very well, and the dry first stage is a plus when diving cold or salt water.