Advantages/Disadvantages to different video settings on go pro?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

thorschosen

Registered
Reaction score
As I said in an earlier post, I am a newer diver interested in taking good quality underwater videos but also on a budget. I am now planning on getting a gopro setup but, as I am also new to videography, I was wondering what is the difference between shooting in the different video modes- 1080p at 30fps, 720p 60fps and so on. Will one give better fluidity while another give better picture quality? And are there specicfic conditions in light or visibility that would favor one over another? I also realize there can be some vignetting on some of the settings depending on the flat lense set-up used. Right now I'm still leaning towards the backscatter set up with the red filter. If anyone has comparable videos showing the difference between the different camera modes please share to show the difference.

Thanks