$350 range light - found FWT Schulz

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Maurice

Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi All,

I am finally going to buy my own dive-light.. which is great, off-course, but I am still searching in what I should buy.

Requirements:
  • I am diving in murky water, here in Holland, this lamp should work here.
  • I am an avid photographer and used to have a Halogen 35W to help me with lighting the subject. My new lamp should work good when taking pics, so it should not be a spotlight nor should it have the cold blue led color. (Halogen lamps seem to work great... lots of red in those)
  • The budget is quite limited... as I have just dropped my camera and needed to replace it.:depressed:

I found FWT Schulz as most promising to me with either
going over budget with the GS80 or slightly underperforming in stamina department in the GS50 range using Halogen.

Does anyone have any experience with Schulz lamps?
which way should I go: less light with warm LED or Halogen with diffusor and short battery life?

TIA

Maurice

I would definetly go with HID, Preferably Halcyon - Light Monkey (Salvo) Both companies are excellent to deal with and should you have any issues with your light they will take care of you. Murky waters I would recomend going with a 21watt HID, But as your only looking to spend 350.00 I would seach the forums and try pick up a used 10watt HID. It will work well enough and they go around here for that price a lot.

Thanks a22shady,