will wetsuits always be made of neoprene

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

RRedd

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I have been diving for about three years now, and i went to the Panama city jetties this last weekend and dove. For the first time in a while i had trouble sinking. It took me nearly 20 pounds to sink with a 5mm neoprine suit on. I hate my 5mm. They are just soo bouyant. Will there ever be a suit as cheap as neoprine, but made of something different? Yeah i know about dry suits ,warm water suits , but those are all very expensive. Will the powers that be ever come out with a durable alternitive to neoprine. I mean i think i look good in this rubber suit and all, it just positive bouyancy quailities, will the new material be bouynat as well? Were is the industry going on exposure protection suits?

Newer materials are surely in our future.

But til then, lead is cheap, and whatever it takes to sink you is what it takes to sink you--you're still neutrally buoyant at depth, so what difference does it make?

theskull

You'd actually normally use a bit more lead with a dry suit. And no matter what material we may end up using in the future, you can be sure it will be positively buoyant at the surface.

If you think a 5mm is bad, try a 2pc. 7mm. I have to use 26- 28# to get down in fresh water:shakehead . On top of that, to me, it is really confining feeling. I feel like a kid in a winter commercial that has so much stuff on, his arms stick dtraight out & he has to waddle to move:D .