Which camara

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

icemyst7

Reaction score
I am new to scuba and I want to beable to take pictures of my dives. Which camara is the best for beginners? I kinda want to get a digital one so that I can put the pictures on the web.

What I'd recommend you do for starters is to get a Reefmaster or an Aquashot. These are film cameras, but inexpensive, and great to learn and practice with. Probably the biggest problem with inexpensive digital cameras and underwater photography is the delay factor, which will inevitably capture a lot of fish tails but very few fish.
Here are some shots made with a digital (expensive one) on a dive off Panama City last month - and you can go from that page to some shots made with an Aquashot to see some samples of what you can do with a cheap film camera.
http://homepages.msn.com/SupportSt/rickmurchison/turtle.html
Have fun,
Rick

Originally posted by icemyst7
I am new to scuba and I want to beable to take pictures of my dives. Which camara is the best for beginners? I kinda want to get a digital one so that I can put the pictures on the web.

I think it's Sealife/Reefmaster that has just come out with an entry level digital camera. It has it's limitations but if your main goal is to post the pictures on the internet and not print enlargements, you should be fine.

As Rick mentioned, the delay factor is there but you learn to work around it! I think the advantages of digital outweigh having to plan your fish shots.