where to hunt in the midwest??

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

New
Reaction score
looking to get into the sport of underwater hunting. what states in the midwest have lienient laws on where and what you can hunt? any newbie advice? thanks

It varies widely from state to state. Best to contact the fish and game dept for the particular state you want to go to.

I live in Oklahoma and only have a general idea about our regulations since i havent started hunting yet. I'm hoping Santa brings me a spear gun this year :D

FD

I'm new to this also, hope you got your speargun for Christmas, I didn't. Anyhow, I have some friends in South Missouri who say Arkansas has some of the most liberal spearfishing regs. around the midwest. Spearfisherman there can take half a line fisherman's limit on both gamefish and non-game species. In Missouri only non-game species are allowed, no bass or catfish, but in Arkansa, you can even take one striped bass a day and a few Walleye. Additionally, I've heard the vis is really good in some of the lakes in Northern Arkansas, up to 15 feet. Not bad for fresh water. Good luck! I didn't make it out last summer, but I'm committed to taking the time and getting it done this year.

I've just gotten a speargun this past week and am not far from Lake Powell. Actually expect to use it at the end of march in Naples, Fl. Hope the airliner allows me to take it on the plane...
Happy Hunting

Phil