What suits to try?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

chrisP42

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I'm going to continue diving in a rather cold environment (Lake Constance, temperature chart: here). Though I'm an absolute beginner, I'm not too comfortable with rented suits, so buying one is relatively high on my list. Unlike most other equipment, I really don't get a grip on what to look for when it comes to suits. Dry or semi-dry? Neoprene or trilaminate? Overall? Ice-west? Black or coloured? Grah! :confused:
I feel comfortable swimming for about 15min in ~18°C water in trunks, just to give you an impression of my weenieness ;-).
Of course I'll consult my lds (and buy there, and even might have the chance to test-dive in advance), but I really like to at least understand what the sales rep is talking about so I routinely do some research in advance.

TIA, chris

I am sure you will get a lot of answers...as you are in Europe I am assuming (always dangerous) that the majority of your diving is going to be done in that area....which generally is on the cold side, at least north. The temp. chart you showed...is that taken at depth or is that surface temp? Since it is a lake, I am also assuming there probably is a thermocline?