What camera do people recommend for a beginner?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

bobshreve

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I've been diving about a year and I'd like to start doing some underwater photography. I am an experienced photographer in the air and I want to start underwater with inexpensive equipment. I have found a couple of possibilities. One is a Sea Life DC800 which costs about $400. The other course would be one of the many inexpensive Canons plus a Canon underwater case.

What do you think of these two options?

Thank you in advance for your time and knowledge.

Regards,
Bob

I prefer the SeaLife Pro.

You get the camera and a strobe which helps with color at depth.

I would suggest a SeaLife with a strobe also.
Good luck,
U/O

So here's the quick answer and then a long one.

Quick: Grab a housing for your camera (especially if it's point & shoot). You've got to be comfortable with controlling the features. Next, buy a very good strobe and be prepared to spend money on it. I'd recommend any of the higher-end Ikelites or Sea & Seas. Your lighting is more important than your camera. Most amateurs come out w/very blue pictures or over-exposed pictures w/flash. Putting money into the flash allows you to upgrade your equipment (which most people do if they get into it) and you don't have to junk your investment in the flash.

Long Answer: