What am I breathing?!?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

PastorJeff

Reaction score
I did a search and did not find anything on this so I thought I would ask...If I missed a keyword and am asking a dumb question, please let me know :wink:

When they fill the tank, and I breath it in, what exactly am I breathing?!? Before becoming a Pastor, I used to work as a Paramedic...Are they using O2 in the tanks?!? I would think that would be quite flamable?!?

I was just curious. If there is a book that someone would reccomend to get me going I would be very greatful!!

Thanks for your time!

Jeffrey :confused:

If you're not a scuba diver, it's a very valid question. Air is the most common and also the cheapest gas used in scuba tanks. Air has 21% oxygen. Nitrox, which is an oxygen enriched air mixture, is also common, with mixes up to 40% oxygen. Additional training beyond your open water course is required to use Nitrox safely, as oxygen becomes toxic depending on the percentage and depth used.

[edit] saw your other post about being uncertified, and new to diving. Welcome to the sport!

PastorJeff once bubbled...

I was just curious. If there is a book that someone would reccomend to get me going I would be very greatful!!

If you're still planning on taking the PADI class, I would talk to your dive shop and see if you could get the openwater manual in advance. They should also have videos and CDs that will explain all the basics.

MD