Wetsuit Question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

nycev

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to scuba, and was wondering about wetsuits -- I have signed up for, but haven't completed the first confined water dives, and am just learning about wetsuits. The real question I am dealing with is, if I am interested in both triathlons and scuba diving, is it possible to have/use just one wetsuit for both? I was looking at the "lower" end models by orca (https://www.orca.com/secure.html) for triathlons, and some have said these would be okay for diving -- any thoughts? I realize probably the tri suits are not reinforced in all the right places for scuba, so does this mean they will wear away much quicker -- I guess depending on how much diving and triathlons I do? What are the pros/cons of using a tri suit for scuba, or vice versa, and does anyone have experience doing this?

Thanks so much for your help in advance.