Wetsuit boots and fins for wide feet?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

fuzzybabybunny

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I wear a size 8 4EEEE and have a very difficult time finding shoes that fit. I'm also a newbie to diving equipment, having really only used regular sporting goods store equipment. I currently use a pair of Mares Avanti Pro HP and they KILL my feet. I get foot cramps at least once every time I go into the water.

So now I'm getting into colder water snorkeling/freediving, and I figure a boot + fin combo would be nice.

Are there any boot manufacturers out there that tend to fit wide or have really stretchy material? It seems like a lot of the Mares booties seem to be sized larger than spec'd, but does this mean they're wider, or just larger overall?

I've also read that some Pinnacles are stretchier than other boots so they accommodate wide feet better. Still, I feel like I'd rather have a boot that was made wide to begin with rather than rely on its stretchiness to accommodate.

I'm also not sure about pairing up with fins. Some people seem to have trouble sticking their wider boots in some fins?

I'd like to get some larger freediver-ish fins, but none of them are open heel to allow boots! What if I just got some socks instead? Do neoprene socks + full foot fins work? It seems like Esclapez makes an open heeled model though.