Wet suit alterations

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ScubaDubaDave

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Most of the 100 dives I have logged have been in the warm summer waters of the Caribbean :) using my good 'ol 4/3 shorty so I'm not an expert on various wet suit options. When the water temp get's much below 80F the shorty doesn't quite do it and I use my 4/3 full one piece suit. I dread the thought of using it.:depressed: I've only used a few times. It's a Body Glove and it fits like one and once its on it's fine and sized right. But it takes so much effort to pull it on and off I'm just about worn out for the dive.

I had a thought that if there was a side zipper in the leg from the knee down if might be a heck of a lot easier to at least get the bottom half on and off. I'm wondering if that would be an easy alteration to get done or if it makes sense?

Anyone know of any wet suits on the market already with similar leg zippers? I know with the zipper there's risk of a little leakage but the suit fits snug around my legs anyway so I don't think a little water penetration down there would be bothersome.

I'm not sure if I'm understanding your question correctly, because the post title is about wetsuit alterations but then you are asking if there are any wetsuits on the market already with long leg zippers (?) (No biggie but in case you are wondering why I'm maybe not answering the right question.... )