Venice Beach - missing diver

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

I was at the beach that day watching the rescue (recovery) attempts. What the story from the lifeguards was that she had no BC on and was found in only 15 feet of water..BUT, the situation turned into a criminal investigation. Again, that was what the lifeguards on the beach that day reported. A very sad story!

Sorry to hear another life is lost in another preventable accident (Diving alone instead of with a partner).

I'm fairly new to diving, so I don't know of all the ways to go diving, but it says she was not wearing a BC. So does this mean she carried a tank out there in her arms with a reg attached? I don't understand the NO BC part.

BCs are a relatively new diving invention. Pre ABLJ days divers dived by simply weighting themselves correctly for the depth they want to go to. Its unusual these days but certainly was normal in the past.

As for preventable/alone - theres no 100% guarantee that someone else may have solved the problem. You could equally argue she should have carried a redundant air source for solo diving.

String, thanks for the "BC History Lesson. :) I did not know how they used to do it. Guess I always thought that there was some sort of BC.

And you;re right about no 100% guarantee. Guess I spoke a little quickly on the partner/alone thing. Esp when vis is usually so minimal there. It is ashamed though. And in only 15 ft of water