Using New Gear Questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

freewillie

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
For a number of different reasons I have been unable to get a practice dive in before my dive vacation. I will be using a new air integrated dive computer for the first time on vacation. I will still be using the SPG as back up until I'm used to and know the transmitter works.

I'm also going to have a GoPro as well. I've never used a camera before and it's going to be interesting. I'm not such a fanatic however I'm going to be focused on taking photo or video. Mostly just a fun thing to take along and get a record of the dive. If it gets to be too much I'll forget the video and just enjoy the dive.

I understand in a perfect world I would have been able to make a few practice dives with each piece of gear and not wait for vacation. This ain't a perfect world. Anybody else have similar experience and found themselves testing new gear on a vacation?

Practice operating the Go pro on land. That is the best advice I can give you. Film the dog, the cat, the inside of the car, under the bushes, see how it works with different lighting scenarios and learn how terribly shaky you are without a ton of concentration.

As for an air integrated computer.. that shouldn't present much if any task loading underwater.