Used regulators: how old is too old?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

84CJ7

Contributor
Reaction score
How old is it safe to buy assuming proper maintainance has been done, before a model isn't supported and parts are impossible to get? I am new to diving and looking at all the used stuff out there, but some of it is pretty old stuff that still seems to have most if not all the same features as the new stuff at a fraction of the price. Another problem is learning about the equipment since reviews only cover the latest stuff for the most part and its hard to figure out what quality level and features an older used piece might have in comparison to the new version. For example I was looking at this setup:

Mares MR12 DIN first stage, MR12III second stage, Akros Octo, and Sunto three guage console. completely rebuilt the regulator, and it is nitrox ready
For $140 plus shipping,

but having no clue how good a price that might be and not knowing what the features and good and bad points of that specific gear are I decided against it.

I also would like to buy once, so starter grade gear is not an option unless its used but in good condition and very cheap. And I 'll probably be hitting the great lakes, so something designed for when things get a little chilly would be nice if I have to spend alot.

A lot depends on the company.