Underwater Photography. Please help!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Theunis

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I want to purchase a underwater camera/ video/ digital. I do not know what you call it. But I understand you can buy a photograph/video combo for less than $700. What do you recommend? I am not a professional photographer, all I want is to show my wife and daughter how a fish looks like (ha ha ha). I have heard that you can buy additional memory card for longer videos.

Please advice me.

Diver Dennis, thanks for your reply. It seems that I have a lot to read about camera's, etc. I will get into it straight away!! Thanks for the link.

No worries. A warning though, once you start you will find it very addicting as well as very draining on your bank account...:D

There are a lot of point and shoot cameras that can take terrific shots. A lot depends on you doing some research and reading the manual. There are a lot of online resources, read free, that can teach you the basics of becoming a good photographer in general. You don't have to spend a lot to get started. This forum has some terrific photographers and they are always willing to share tips and techniques.

Good luck!

Diver Dennis and Jack, thanks again for your replies. I do appreciate it. At this point I am looking at a Sea and Sea 860G ($770) with a YS27 strobe ($480), or maybe a
Nikon L16 ($700) with the Sea and Sea strobe.

What do you think?

Theunis