Trying to get started

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

serambin

Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I just received my new Oly PT-019 for my 5000c Oly camera. What is the the best/most affordable strobe attachment for this rig? I am going on a dive trip to Roatan the first week of June and would like to use the camera.

Any suggestions? I am an experienced photographer on land, but not in water.

Stan

I would suggest something like an Inon D2000 / D2000S or if this is too expensive the Sea & Sea YS25 Auto. These strobes have served me well and my students also.
Of course if you are going to step-up later to something more advanced, then consider the Inon Z240 (which will also suit DSLR) or Sea and Sea YS110.

I just purchased a Sea&Sea YS27DX ... newer version of the YS25. Got an arm, base and the strobe for $365. It fits your "most affordable" catagory and will work well with your photographic skills as it is a manual strobe...ie you set the output. The Inon's will be your most scalable strobe along with Ikelite but both are more money.

Cheers,
Gary