Suunto Vyper and EAN non deco limits

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DickBurton

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi

I've been diving for a couple of years now and finally got round to getting my Nitrox certification. In the PADI book that accompanied the course it states that the non deco time at 18 metres with 32% EAN is 95 minutes. My Suunto Vyper tells me I can only stay at 18 metres for 74 minutes (I've not dived for a few days so it's nothing to do with repetetive dives), my partners Suunto D4 tells her she can stay at the same depth for 81 minutes!

I'm assuming that there is nothing wrong with either computer and I'm happy to stick with conservative limits, but the differences to seem quite significant - especially noticable at 30 metres. Can anyone tell me - is this just the Suunto algorithm being ulta conservative?

Thanks

There is actually nothing inherently more or less conservative about RGBM as an algorithm- it's entirely dependent on the settings selected by the individual computer manufacturer. Suunto's implementation of RGBM has a reputation of being very conservative. Others, like Atomic's, are less so.