Summer wetsuit options

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

memphisluvr

Reaction score
Hi all. . . .I'm really new to diving and need some help deciding what I need to get for a summer wetsuit.

I have close friends that dive and they have given me some guidance, but I also know they tend to be biased. I also think I've worn out my 'question welcome' temporarily. :wink:

My question is what is a good suit/skin/whatever for summer diving. I've been told that you can dive comfortably in the local lake in just a swimsuit, but I tend to be cold-natured and want to be ready to work around that.

I had a LDS owner recommend one of the fleece lined skins, but my friends are passionately against them b/c they say they don't see the point in wearing wet fleece. Now I don't think they've actually tried one, I think they've just looked at them and made that decision. Unfortunately I can't afford to buy one just to try it out. I need to know if it'll protect me some from the cold. I don't need serious protection, just enough to keep a chill off.

What is the general opinion of these type suits? What kind of experiences have you had? Any other recommendations?

I also like the idea that I can layer these guys under a traditional wetsuit in colder water. I'm all about multi-tasking in my purchases whenever possible.

Thanks for the help.