Sticking Button

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DiveLvr

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hi everyone,
I am new at U/W photography. I have a DC 800 with Pro Strobe. I have had the camera for a couple of years but it has not seen much "action". That said, the actual camera in the sealife housing is a replacement and just over a year old (the original camera was stolen). What use the housing/camera has had has been mostly in saltwater. I always rinse the unit in freah water after every dive and store it in the carrying case.

I was diving recently in a freshwater spring at about 65 ft and had a problem pushing the shutter button and the zoom buttons but nothing happened. Earlier in the dive in shallower water I didn't have any problem. Is this a depth/pressure problem? I thought this camera housng was rated much deeper than 65 ft.

Any thoughts?

DiveLvr

I had a problem with sticking buttons with my Sealife DC500 housing. A mail to the Sealife support learnt that there is an easy solution to avoid this. Put a little bit of silicone grease at the tip of a toothpick and grease the shaft of the sticking button. Push and release the button several times to spread the grease over the shaft. That solved my problem. But yours sounds different. It sounds as if the external button doesn't reach the camera button. Was your camera properly inserted in the housing? Check that first. Greasing the button shafts doesn't hurt your housing so that is always something that you can try.