starter dive boat advice: metzler juca/15 hp motor

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

barnacleben

Reaction score
hey divers!

i thank you for your time. i'm looking at an inexpensive inflatable boat for use around monterey (near shore) dive sites. i'm a novice with regard to outboard motors, inflatable verses RIB boats, et cetera. but i'm a quick learner too, and plan to take the coast guard auxilliary course and make ample practice runs before actually conducting my first boat dive.

with that said, i've found a old metzler juca inflatable with a 15 hp motor that was used by a scuba instructor and has been garaged for ten years! the motor still runs well (or at least is turned over and ran for us!) and it's clean looking inside with no corrosion. it's not exactly purring though, and it could certainly use a tune up. anyone know about tune ups for an outboard? i used to do all my own car stuff (filters, cap, rotor, plugs, jumper cables, etc.) but don't know if that translates to the 2-cycle environment. any advice on outboard motor maintenance (such as a FAQ) or info on a do-it-yourself tune-up would be most appreciated.

also, the boat itself needs a good day's worth of cleaning, sanding and glueing. ok, it's old and may require frequent glueing and reglueing, but i'm confidant it will all come together and serve once more as an ample little dive boat for two. anyone care to comment on the metzler boat or have other "starter dive boat" advice?

thanks so much,

ben