Sore Ears

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

NicW

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hello. I've been diving for 9 years - have about 55 dives. When we go on vacation, I tend to dive everyday twice per day. I have no trouble equalizing; my problem is more just with sore/inflamed ears. After a few days, they start feeling sore - even to the touch - almost like they are infected. Not sure if possibly retained water irritates them or what but sick of this happening and hope someone can offer advise. I have used drops and sometimes it helps. Can anyone offer advise? Thx in advance.
Nic

Hey Nic,
I think the problem is your not equalizing early and often enough. I had the same problem freediving, painful tender ears right around the exterior ear canal. I'd wait till I felt pressure then equalize with a big "pop". Ideally you'll want to equalize before feeling discomfort and not feel or hear any pop at all; from surface to bottom depth (IDEALLY).

Try different methods of equalizing:
- Frenzel method
- Yawning with a wide open throat and mouth, breathing nice and easy
- Wiggling your jaw
etc

If the problem isn't this then is could be wet ears.
Try Ethyl rubbing Alcohol in the ears, it will help you dry them out. Drop them in, let them sit for a few seconds, then drain them. Some people do 50-50 with water, I've done 90% straight from the bottle. Burns and tingles a bit, but should NOT hurt. Let your ears air dry, and don't stick anything into them, not even Q-tips.