Some WetSuit / RashGuard questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Naberius

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hey guys & gals.

I'm about to start my Scuba Diving class soon (26th of this month) and I need to get a wetsuit. I'm really new to the whole scuba diving, equipment feel. I've done some extensive research, as I'd really like to scuba dive for a hobby.

Now, I've purchased a snorkel, diving mask, and fins from my local scuba diving shop and I paid about $355.00 for it all. Now my shop told me that I got a great deal and I came home and did some digging myself. And apparently some items I bought could have been paid for a lot less online, for example these fins I was charged $82.00 for in shop and online they are $30.00 ScubaPro Jet Sport Full Foot Fins 25.883.100 with reviews at scuba.com

well and some other items that were a lot less online :/. I don't want to say I do not support my local scuba diving shop, actually I wanna go back and buy more stuff. But now I'm sorta skeptical about shopping there again and well not getting a fair deal.

Regardless, the reason why I came here is to ask about WetSuits and RashGuards.

RashGuards are worn under wetsuits to prevent any damages to the skin right? I'm looking on Amazon.com to do some purchases and I would like some advices on these items.

Me: Male, 23 years old, 168lbs, 5' 9" waist 32-33. Most of my clothing I wear are sized medium, but since I've never been in a wetsuit, I'm not sure how the sizes work.