skin bends

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hello everyone, first I am new to the scubaboard. I have recently been diving in Truk lagoon and developed the skin bends. They resolved with 100%o2 and i feel great. Of course my diving was halted and i was forced to return to the states early aborting my trip to Palau. Not sure what caused this and of course am concerned. I have tried to locate a diving MD in my area thru DAN but they seem to all have moved away. Feel my frustration! What is the usual follow up after an episode like this? How long before diving again? So many questions. Just want to be safe.

Hi & welcome, I'm new to Scubaboard also!

There are numerous reports on cutaneous DCS ("skin bends") to the Divers Alert Network.

The primary signs of cutaneous DCS include a rash or mottled skin with bruise like "marbled" appearance typically dark red in colouring and rash is usually not raised. It can be accompanied by symptoms such as tenderness & swelling and occassionally itching sensations without other symptoms or signs.