Similan - beginner dives?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

moyabean

New
Reaction score
Hi. I'm a newbie with only 12 dives, 7 of which were in Fiji at 33-34m, but only 1 in swift current (threw everyone for a loop). I plan on getting my advanced cert before we go to Khao Lak.

Am I dreaming thinking that there are appropriate beginner dives at Similan and Khon Bon? I'd love to hopefully see some mantas and whale sharks, but are these dives even appropriate for someone with less than 25 dives? I've been surfing the liveaboard websites, but I think I may have put the cart before the horse here!

If I can get 20 dives under my belt before my trip, do you that will make me more prepared? The diving would be in a reservoir. I think the dive school uses the currents from the dam for teaching.

Any thoughts on what dive sites I can do?

Thanks! :)

The Similans consists of two different areas; the "original" 9 Similan Islands (no 1 to 9) and North of those the two later added Islands to the marine park Ko Bon and Ko Tachai.
Most sites within the original Similan National Park offer very good diving for beginner, intermediate and advanced divers. Sites that can be "hard" to dive (current) are Elephant Head Rock, Boulder City, Christmas Point, Fantasea Reef (closed for diving) and Deep Six.

Ko Bon and Ko Tachai often have current and thermoclines and are surrounded by deep water. The diving can be hard at those two sites if the conditions are not ideal.