Sidemount, Drysuit and Weight Hell

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

FiddlerOnTheRoof

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
2500 - 4999
Hi everyone,

I haven't been posting very much and I am not one to cluter the forum with nonsense but this time I need your input on a few things... I have been diving since 1989 and an avid New England wreck diver since the mid 90's. Most my dives are deep cold water dives with a drysuit and twin back mount steel 100 tanks plus deco tanks etc... In 2013 I decided to take some time off from scuba but I missed it too much and last year decided to return to the depths of the ocean with a slight difference... I decided to get into sidemount!

I am a 210 pound 45 year old man with already a little bit of arthritis on my feet and so the idea of being able to carry the tanks to the water one at a time was a big incentive along with other benefits of sidemount like redundancy.

Anyway, I had a great year 2015 diving with my 7mm wetsuit but as the water got colder, and because I like diving all year I decided to buy a new drysuit and all hell broke loose! With my 7mm and my double steel 100 tanks all I needed was 4 pounds to go diving but now with the new "winter" setup I need a whopping 40 pounds of lead to be able to dive dry. I know I have gained some pounds in the last few years but 40 pounds got me by surprise. I used to only need about 27 pounds in the past so I was not happy!