She Surfs, I Dive

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dspeeds

New
Reaction score
We are going to be in Costa Rica from the 3rd to the 9th of January. Given the girlfriend loves to surf and I love to dive, we figured Costa Rica would be a good vacation spot. However, I'm having trouble finding the right "home base" for our trip because neither of us want to be near Tamarindo. I've been researching for a while and cannot find good answers, so figured I would try to post - which I have never done before. So...here are my questions:

1) she wants a Nosara like town (quiet, lots of surfing). There does not seem to be any diving near Nosara, however. As such, can anyone suggest a place with lotsa waves/surfing where I can still access Catalina/Bats that is NOT Tamarindo? I do not mind paying for a nicer hotel either, but prefer to be somewhere quiet where we can surf AND scuba

2) My reading indicates the northwest is where the best diving is. I've also read about Herradura, etc. Any thoughts on which is better? I'd love to at least have a chance to see a manta.

3) we are flying into LIR and out of San Jose, so figured we would try to do North and South dive/surf. We have a car. Any thoughts on this would also be most helpful.

Thanks in advance for any help - there is 20" of snow in New York right now so certainly looking forward to being in Costa Rica next week!

Best,
David