Securing your camera

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

on how to make sure you don't donate the camera to the sea bottom...

But how are you securing it close to your body when your not using it? Am hopeing for a solution that doesn't result in the camera dangling by the lanyard(s).

Mike,

Like the other posts previous I have my camera attached to a lanyard. I have a Reefmaster + external strobe. When the camera is not in use it floats (normally right above me) and when I need it I pull it in. This sometimes can be a pain but I haven't pursued other ways of attaching or storing while not in use.

With the accessory tray and strobe attached, the Auto35 is negative (IOW, it will dangle from wrist underwater).

Where's Herman in all of this...I think I saw him using a method of stowing hims MX-10 in a hands free manner on that last drift dive the Wreckmaniacs did.....

why no retractor?

Personal preference amongst the dive team I'm getting in with...

Mostly due to potential of entanglement if attentions are elsewhere.

Rignt now, I'm thinking of trying two bolt snaps on either side of the camera body so I can stow the camera against my body on my BC d-rings.

If I figure out something that works, I'll post a photo and a report.