Scuba in schools??

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Thanks everybody! I didn't realize people were actually responding to this because I didn't receive a notification from scubaboard (I'm new to it). I went to University of Miami and we had a scuba program there is well.

What about high schools? Do you know of any? I run a nonprofit that teaches students from low-income communities science through scuba diving, so I'm interested in learning of different programs that are out there. We're based in Brooklyn and I know the NY Harbor School has a very highly regarded program that incorporates scuba into the curriculum. Know of anything else?
For what it is worth, I am team teaching a 3 week summer school program with a biology teacher open to any high school student in Bangkok. OK, so that might be kinda far. We are going to do two weeks of classroom prep/OW knowledge review and pool session followed by 4 days in Pattaya. two days will be open water dives to get OW and PPB certs, then two days of reef research on corals, fish and invertebrates. If you want more detail, send me your email. Jeff

At the University Im going to we have one research vessel and are adding another one and its going to be a ice breaker, we also have two scientific diving classes and kelp ecology. With that said the school also has a nice beach front research station down in Kachemak bay that has a few zodiac boats, gear, and some real nice cabins.