Roatan vs Costa Maya

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

skarloc

New
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi all,

I am new to the scuba board. I a need a little help in deciding where to dive on a cruise we are taking the first part of March.

My first question is which is the better dive site Roatan or Costa Maya?

Second should we just book with the Cruise line Rotal Carribean?

Do I need to use a 3mm full, 3mm shorty or no wet suit that time of year?

Any information about these two dive areas whould really be helpfu.

Thanks

Skarloc:

The better diving is in Roatan. Costa Maya is alright, but
Roatan is much better known and has more dive shops going
for it. Also, better reefs.
As to diving with a cruise line, it's like this.
If you dive through the cruise line you will pay more for your dives
than you would pay working out a deal with a local dive shop -
the cruise line gets it's cut.
The good news of diving with the cruise line, is IF (the BIG IF) the
dive goes late, the cruise line will hold the ship for you.
If you dive through a local shop (not using the cruise line) and the
dive runs late - the ship could leave without you.
It now becomes your dime to get to the next port and meet the ship!
If your only going to many two dives per day - the 3mm shorty should
be fine that time year in either Roatan or Costa Maya.
Enjoy your trip.

Thanks for the info. Any dive shops you recommend in Roatan?

You might want to check out "Mayan Divers" on West Bay. They