review Sealife Mini II

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

I've been using my Mini II for several months, and I've learned to work around a lot of its quirks. Would I buy another one? Absolutely NOT! It does have its issues...

When it comes to battery life, I found the silver lithium batteries to work real well. I put two in during the ScubaBoard Invasion of Coz, and I just pulled them out last week. That was two months ago. They were finally starting to die... I took a ton of pictures with it... and the batteries really lasted. Now, the batteries are expensive... but... well worth it.

Macro? Read the manual... it's only good between 2-4 feet. That's not macro to me, but... that's what I use to get portraits... or.. good facial shots... To me... macro is inches away... not feet away...

Underwater mode... SeaLife blew it on that one. Too much red. I use the land mode and adjust the colors using Photoshop and/or Lightroom.

The size of the camera is great! I throw it in my BCD pocket and take it where ever I go... I even have it with me when I'm taking pictures with my DC1200. It's a handy little camera...

I've been throwing the camera in the pool during Open Water classes, and the students have a blast taking pictures of each other during the free swim portion of the class. They have a blast.

I abuse mine, and it's as good as a Timex....

I get much better shots with my Canon Powershot SD750 in a Canon u/w housing from Leisurepro.