Review Deep 6 Regulator Service Class

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rob.mwpropane

ScubaBoard Supporter
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
I'll preface this review by saying I've been diving for 3 years, so this is from my perspective. I'm sure the other guys in the class (who I'm sure all had WAY more dives than me) will have a little different take on things.

I decided to post this in the beginners section (move if needed) because after the class yesterday I REALLY believe it's beneficial for everyone to take a service class to understand how to better take care of their regs, even if you never plan to actually rebuild one. I think any class would work, but as with anything in scuba it really boils down to the instructor more so than the class, and @cerich, owner and operator of Deep 6 Gear, did not disappoint.

The class (yesterday 2/23) was scheduled 9-4 so be ready to take in a lot of information, but again, if you never plan to rebuild a reg you can still learn a lot just by watching and listening. Chris had a ton of pointers on how to just take better care of regs between service intervals, especially after using in salt water. How to air them out so they're REALLY dry before you throw them in the bag for the next trip. What to check / look for as far as loose parts, and how often they should really be serviced.