Renting gear for vacation

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

BryantH

New
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hey everyone, been lurking for a while and finally have a question.

I'm a professional photographer on the side, and am looking to carry it over into my diving. I don't dive 50+ times a year normally, but do get in a good amount. Not sure if I would like to drop a ton of cash into a setup if I'm not going to be doing it often.

I was looking into rentals of the smaller camera variety, as I am going on a week long trip to Cozumel, but at that price for a week rental, I might as well just buy one honestly. I have a 1dsMk3 and thought about a full housing, but even more crazy.

Any suggestions for what to do in this situation? Places with reasonable rentals/what cameras to look at and stay away from for renting, and possibly buying!

Thanks

I'm in the same boat. $5000 for a dive housing for my Nikon D2x? Plus lighting stuff, etc. No thanks. Not now at least. I'm using the following:
-GoPro Hero2 - $250
-GoPro Dive Housing - $45
-Red filter - $14 (But I'll be purchasing the Backscatter flip uo for $49 once I get back)
-Intova Imini light - $30 (used)
-Flashlight mount - $25 from my buddy who machines billet pieces
-Sea Life Mount - Free (Sure you can find it used)
-Random hardware (straps, etc.) - $10

So as you can see it's not too expensive of a setup, takes great photos & video. This photo is of everything except the light mount finished:
i-4rbBhzB-XL.jpg