Reg questions (Should I exchange, Should I keep?) New diver needs advice!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Spartenos

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hello All!

About 10 years ago, I went to get certified and got sick before my dives. I just went through again and passed all the confined tests\exams and have OW followed by AOW\Nitrox\Rescue after that. (I have some prior experience with some stuff from the Navy and buddies there)

I picked up all of my own gear, as I know I will dive more with it than without. I picked up some stuff at Leisurepro (I have seen some bad posts about them here? where do you all pickup gear? They are much cheaper than my LDS on some items!) and some at my LDS.

One of the items I picked up from LP was my regulator. I picked up a CRESSI MC9-SC with Balanced Ellipse (non adjustable). I was talking with the owner of my LDS who I have been taking classes through, and he really dislikes the Cressi brand. He said they used to have several distributor issues and quality issues which is why he stopped carrying them. He carries Sherwood and Hollis (mainly) in store (I believe he can order other regs as well). He recommended "almost anything but Cressi". I have been looking at reviews online and several other websites and need some advice. I will likely be doing an exchange through LP if possible, unless I find an amazing used deal (leary of this as it is my lifeline.....)