reefmaster mini suggestions for iso, shooting with 960 strobe

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rayaa3

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hello,

I have a reefmaster mini that I've done a little diving with. Recently I got a great deal on a older sealife strobe (sl960)...so I'm making my first trip with the camera, with the new strobe next week.

I'll be going to cozumel, diving in 70-100ft viz, in 50-100ft depth. I was wondering if anyone could make any suggestion to me about some settings.

obviously I need to be set for external flash - however, what should I set for iso? I'm not much more than a point and shoot photographer, but I'de like my pics to turn out a little nicer (less blues, more colors, but not over flashed and washed out) - and any advice is appreciated.

I've heard that the 960 can create too much flash for the reefmaster in many situations (light/sandy backgrounds)

any advice appreciated, particurlary with iso settings with this combo of camera/strobe in this type of viz/conditions.

thanks,

Ray

Hello Rayaslin,

I recommend just letting the camera do the settings for you as that is part of the programming we do to best synchronize the camera and flash. the flash will help your pictures come out with the natural clolors instead of a blueish tint.

I would also recommend reading your manual again for the explaination on the Far Flash and Macro Flash settings which are very helpful when using the External Flash. This will help any washout you may get.